2014 Camp Dates:

June 15th- Aug 9th

See the OG Training tab for the upcoming training dates!

Follow Blog via Email

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

email address:
Homepage:
URL:
Comment:

*:
 

Resources

Organizations

The International Dyslexia Association www.interdys.org

Academy of Orton-Gillingham Practitioners and Educators www.ortonacademy.org

International Dylsexia Association-NC Branch www.nc-ida.org

LD Online www.ldonline.org

Learning Disabilities Association www.ldanatl.org

National Dissemination Center for Children with Disabilities www.nichcy.org

Great Schools www.schwablearning.org

Wrightslaw www.wrightslaw.com

National Center for Learning Disabilities www.ncld.org

Dyslexia Help through University of Michigan http://dyslexiahelp.umich.edu/spread-the-word.

All Kinds of Minds www.cast.org

Council for Exceptional Children http://www.cec.sped.org

Council for Learning Disabilities http://www.cldinternational.org

International Dyslexia Association http://www.interdys.org

Learning Disability Association of America www.idamerica.org

Learning Disabilities and ADHD information www.ldonline.org

Frostig Center Predictors of Success for Students with LD www.ldsuccess.org

National Center for Ed. Statistics with the Nat.Asses. of Ed. Progress www.nces.ed.gov

National Info Center www.nichcy.org

National Center for LD and Get Ready to Read Program www.ncld.org

National Institute of of CHild Health and Human Development www.nichd.nih.gov

National Research Center on LD, RTI info & the LD Resource Kit www.nrcld.org

Response to Intervention Resources www.rtinetwork.org

Schwab Foundation for Learning and Great Schools www.greatschools.org

Fun Interactive Site for Students www.sparktop.org

Division of LD of the Council for Exceptional Children www.teachingld.org

What Works Clearinghouse www.w-w-c.org

Web Accessability in Mind http://webaim.org

 

Literacy Resources

Book Share www.bookshare.org

CIERA-Center for Early Reading Achievement www.ciera.org

Florida Center for Reading Research www.fcrr.org

Mass General Hospital www.hillforliteracy.org

Learning Ally Formerly for Recordings for the Blind and Dyslexic www.learningally.org

National Institute for Literacy www.nifl.gov

Proactive Parents www.proactiveparents.com

Texas Center for Learning Disabilities http://texasldcenter.org

Center for Reading and LA http://texasreading.org

Yale Center for Dyslexia and Creativity http://dyslexia.yale.edu

Peter and Pamela Wright-Educational Law http://www.wrightslaw.com

Dawson, P. & Guare, R. (2012) Coaching Students with Executive Skills Deficits, (2010) Executive Skills in Children and Adolescents-2nd Ed. (2009) Smart but Scattered: The revolutionary "Executive Skills" Approach to Helping Reach their Potential, and Skills

Guare, Dawson & Guare (2013) Smart but Scattered Teens: The Executive Skills Program for Helping Teens Succeed in School.

Hallowell, E. & Ratey, J. Driven to Distraction (1994) Answers to Distraction (1996), Delivered from Distraction (2005) and When You Worry about a Child You Love.

Gladwell, Malcolm. (2013) "David and Goliath: Underdogs, Misfits and the Art of Battling Giants."

Foss, Ben (2013) Dyslexia Empowerment Plan.

Schools

Carolina Day School, Asheville, NC www.cdschool.org

Camperdown Academy, Greenville, SC www.camperdown.org

Triad Academy, Winston-Salem, NC www.triadacademy.org

Sandhills School, Columbia, SC www.sandhillsschool.org

The Kildonan School, Amenia, NY www.kildonan.org

Riverside School, Richmond, VA www.riversideschool.org

The Carroll School, Lincoln, MA www.carrollschool.org

Marburn Academy, Columbus, OH www.marburnacademy.org

The Schenck School, Atlanta, GA www.schenck.org

Trident Academy, Mt. Pleasant, SC www.tridentacademy.com

Greengate School, Huntsville, AL www.greengate.org

Schenck School, Atlanta, GA www.Schenck.org

Books

Nurture Shock Po Bronson and Ashley Merryman

The Secret Life of the Dyslexic Child Robert Frank, Ph.d. with Kathryn Livingston

The Dyslexic Advantage Brock L. Eide, M.D., M.A. and Fernette F. Eide, M.D.

Overcoming Dyslexia Sally and Bennett Shaywitz

Parenting a Struggling Reader Louisa C. Moats and Susan Hall

Smart Kids with School Problems Priscilla Vail

Your Child's Growing Mind Jane Healy

Straight Talk About Reading Louisa C. Moats and Susan Hall

Wrightslaw:  Special Education Law Peter and Pamela Wright

Put Reading First Bonnie Armbruster, Fran Lehr, Jean Osborn

The Voice of Evidence in Reading Research Peggy McCardle and Vinita Chhabra

Psychologists

Nicole Baker, Asheville, NC 865-599-0701

Deirdre Christy, Black Mountain, NC  828-669-0505

Sheneen Daniels, Asheville, NC  828-231-3297

Nancy Hatcher, Atlanta, GA  404-875-2050

William Sloane, Winston-Salem, NC  336-722-5890

Camp Goodies

www.diamondbrand.com

 

Audio, Visual, Experiential  

HBO2 (2001) "Journey Into Dyslexia" http://www.hbo.com/documentaries/journey-into-dyslexia/index.html

Lavoie, R. (2005) "Beyond F.A.T. (Frustration, Anxiety, Tension) City: A Look Back, A Look Ahead: Conversations about Special Ed and the original F.A.T. City Workshop:          How Difficult Can This Be?

Redford, J. with Shaywitz, B & S. (2012) "The Big Picture: Rethinking Dyslexia- The Myths, The Stigmas, and the Truths Revealed" Ro-Co Films- www.rocoeducational.com

Hubbell, Harvey. "Dislecksia the Movie"